Надежда, сила и исцеление для семей, справляющихся с диагнозом рака у ребенка

Махалия ~ Посол по вопросам осведомленности о детском раке Альянса Китона по борьбе с раком детей

Познакомьтесь с Махалией, послом по борьбе с раком у детей Альянса Китона по борьбе с раком у детей. В настоящее время Махалия учится на втором курсе Калифорнийского университета в Дэвисе и является членом женской волейбольной команды Калифорнийского университета в Дэвисе. Во время сезона волейбола первокурсников ее стабильное выступление шесть раз за сезон приносило ей звание первокурсника недели конференции Big West, но самым большим достижением было получение награды первокурсника года конференции, став первой Эгги, получившей эту награду. Махалия также вошла в историю Калифорнийского университета в Дэвисе, став первым первокурсником, попавшим в первую команду конференции. В течение этого звездного первого года игры на студенческом уровне Махалия никогда бы не подумала, что у нее диагностируют рак, не говоря уже о том, чтобы играть с ним, но эта вдохновляющая молодая женщина сделала именно это. Вот ее история…

Удивительно, какую поддержку я получил в сообществе Калифорнийского университета в Дэвисе. Моя команда всегда тусовалась со мной, даже если я был слишком болен, чтобы выходить и что-то делать. Они возили меня на прием к врачу и приносили мне еду, хотя я не мог есть так много. Мне очень понравилось, как они заботились обо мне и относились ко мне как к семье. Один из моих товарищей по команде, Джеки Грейвс, создал эти поддерживающие браслеты с надписью «MA-HELLYEAH». 🎗на нем, и она удивила меня примерно 1000 из них. Я не думал, что многие люди будут носить их за пределами моей команды. Мало ли я знал, так много людей в сообществе Калифорнийского университета в Дэвисе носили их. Я помню, как гулял и катался на велосипеде по кампусу, когда был болен, и я видел так много белых и фиолетовых полос с моим именем на них, и это заставило меня почувствовать, что я не одинок.

Рак — это, безусловно, битва, но бороться легче, когда в вашем углу так много людей. Я не только столкнулась с физическими последствиями этого, такими как постоянная тошнота, слабость и выпадение волос, но я потеряла уверенность и чувство собственного достоинства. Я был так благодарен за то, что у меня было так много людей, которые помогли мне отвлечься от этого и так хорошо относились ко мне в это время. И они не только хорошо ко мне относились, они относились ко мне так, как будто я все еще был человеком. Несмотря на то, что я был так смущен, что всякий раз, когда я тусовался со своими друзьями, я всегда был болен или очень устал, они по-прежнему были так добры ко мне и по-прежнему относились к человеку, которым я был до того, как заболел.

Смотреть интервью Mahalia's на Sacramento & Company

В августе 2017 года я начал свою первую пару тренировок в своем первом сезоне студенческого волейбола за Калифорнийский университет в Дэвисе. Помню, после первых двух дней я проснулся посреди ночи от чрезвычайно острой боли в спине. Было очень больно, но я подумал, что это из-за длительной практики, и я плохо спал той ночью. Такая боль не повторялась около 3 недель. В середине волейбольного сезона та же самая пульсирующая и жгучая боль стала возникать очень часто и в случайное время в течение дня. Я слишком нервничал, чтобы признать, насколько сильной была моя боль, потому что я не хотел прекращать играть в волейбол, особенно потому, что я был в стартовом составе нашей команды. Сразу после сезона я отдыхал от всех физических нагрузок, и боль усилилась еще больше. Мне сделали МРТ, и 4 декабря, на следующий день после моего 19-летия, мне поставили диагноз лимфома Ходжкина 4 стадии, и тогда я понял, что играл с раком в течение четырех месяцев, и я никогда не знал.

Это определенно было тяжело для нашей семьи, но этот опыт сблизил нас. Моя мама только что закончила свою борьбу с раком груди 5 месяцев назад, поэтому у моей семьи уже была тесная система поддержки и много позитива. Я помню, как впервые позвонила маме, чтобы рассказать ей о своем диагнозе. Я уже плакал, но она и мои братья уверяли, что я выживу. Помню, у папы был долгий разговор со мной о том, откуда он знает, что у меня есть силы и оптимизм, чтобы пройти через это. Во время моей химиотерапии моя мама регулярно навещала меня, чтобы поддержать меня во время моего 3-дневного лечения. Вдобавок ко всему, вся моя семья и большая семья звонили мне, присылали открытки и делали все, чтобы я знал, что они меня поддерживают.

Я думаю, что для осознания лично лучше показать физическую поддержку или, если вы знаете кого-то, кто проходит через это, показать, что вы их поддерживаете. Несмотря на то, что я очень громко и открыто рассказывал о своем опыте, не всем это было удобно, но просто чтобы люди обращались к ним или видели, как люди носят ленты, которые поддерживают дело, потому что мне было приятно знать, что люди были там для меня и имел мою спину.

Познакомьтесь с Киддо Китона - Кадьяк

In the Fall of 2023, Keaton’s Kiddo Kodiak was diagnosed with two rare and aggressive forms of cancer: Mixed Acute Myeloid Leukemia (AML) and Myelodysplastic Syndrome (MDS) also known as ‘preleukemia.’

Their journey began one year earlier, in the Fall of 2022, when Kodiak was struck with a series of different seasonal illnesses. Kodiak’s mom Tonya shares: “In September, he got COVID, and then in November it was the flu, and then December RSV.”

Читать далее >

Meet Keaton’s Kiddo – Ellora

Months before a clear diagnosis, Ellora was experiencing a loss of appetite, night sweats, and oversleeping. For Ellora, these symptoms were seen as normal for her or seen as natural changes in the growth of a 2-year-old. Eventually, she developed little spots on her hands and unexplained bruises on her body, which the doctors deemed Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura (ITP), but after seeing an informative TikTok video on the symptoms Ellora was experiencing, her mom’s gut told her it was something more than a bleeding disorder.

Читать далее >

Знакомьтесь, малышка Китона – Самера

14-летняя Самера, более известная как Сэм, прошла довольно трудный путь, но благодаря любви и поддержке своей семьи, друзей и общества она смогла преодолеть очень многое. В очень молодом возрасте (2 месяца) Сэму поставили диагноз нейрофиброматоз. Нейрофиброматоз не является изолированным заболеванием. Он вызывает несколько различных заболеваний и может привести к развитию опухолей головного мозга, позвоночника и нервов, которые передают сигналы между головным и спинным мозгом.

Читать далее >
ru_RURU

Hope, Strength, and Healing for families coping with a child cancer diagnosis

Mahalia ~ Keaton’s Child Cancer Alliance Childhood Cancer Awareness Ambassador

Meet Mahalia, Keaton’s Child Cancer Alliance Childhood Cancer Awareness Ambassador.  Mahalia is currently a sophomore at UC Davis and a member of the UC Davis Women’s Volleyball Team. During her Freshman Volleyball season, her consistent performance earned her Big West Conference Freshman of the Week six times during the season, but the biggest accomplishment was earning the conference’s Freshman of the Year honor, becoming the first Aggie to win the accolade. Mahalia also made UC Davis history by becoming the first freshman to make the all conference first team.  During this stellar first year playing at the collegiate level, Mahalia would have never imagined being diagnosed with cancer, let alone playing with it, but this inspiring young woman did just that.  Here is her story…

It was amazing how much support I had throughout the UC Davis community. My team would always hangout with me even though I was too sick to go out and do anything. They would drive me to my doctor appointments and bring me food even though I couldn’t eat that much. I really loved how much they cared for me and treated me like family. One of my teammates, Jackie Graves, created these supportive bracelets that said ma-HELLYEAH 🎗on it and she surprised me with like 1000 of them.  I didn’t think that a lot of people would wear them outside of my team. Little did I know, so many people in the UC Davis community wore them. I remember walking and biking around campus when I was sick and I saw so many of the white and purple bands with my name on them and it made me feel like I was not alone.

Having cancer is definitely a battle, but the fight is easier when you have so many people in your corner. Not only did I face the physical consequences of it, like feeling nauseous all the time, faint, and losing my hair, but I lost my confidence and my sense of self. I was so grateful to have so many people who helped my keep my mind off of it and treat me so well during this time. And not only did they treat me well, they treated me like I was still a person. Even though, I was so embarrassed that whenever I hung out with my friends I was always sick or very tired, they were still so nice to me and still treated like the person I was before I was sick.

Watch Mahalia's Interview on Sacramento & Company

August of 2017, I started my first couple of practices for my first season of collegiate volleyball for UC Davis. I remember after the first couple of days, I was woken up in the middle of night by extremely sharp back pain. It was very painful but I thought that it was from all the extensive practicing and I slept wrong that night. That kind of pain didn’t occur again for about 3 weeks. Half way through the volleyball season, that same throbbing and burning pain began to occur very often and at random times throughout the day. I was too nervous to admit how bad my pain was because I didn’t want to stop playing volleyball especially because I was a starter on our team. Right after season, I rested from all physical activity and the pain escalated even further. I had an MRI and on December 4, the day right after my 19 birthday, I was diagnosed with stage 4 Hodgkins Lymphoma and I then realized that I was playing with cancer for four months and I never knew.

It was definitely tough on our family, but this experience brought us closer. My mom had just finished her battle with breast cancer 5 months prior, so my family already had a close support system and a lot of positivity. I remember when I first called my mom to tell her about my diagnosis.  I was already crying, but her and my brothers was reassuring that I was gonna make it out okay. I remember my dad had a long conversation with me about how he knows that I have the strength and optimism to get through this. During my chemotherapy, my mom visited me regularly to support me during my 3 day treatment. On top of that, all my family and extended family called me, and sent me cards and did everything to help me know that they had my back.

I think for awareness, it’s personally better to show physical support or if you know somebody who is going through it, show that you support them. Even though, I was very vocal and public about my experience not everybody is comfortable with it, but just to have people reach out to them or seeing people wear ribbons that support the cause because it made me feel good to know that people were there for me and had my back.

Meet Keaton’s Kiddo – Ellora

Months before a clear diagnosis, Ellora was experiencing a loss of appetite, night sweats, and oversleeping. For Ellora, these symptoms were seen as normal for her or seen as natural changes in the growth of a 2-year-old. Eventually, she developed little spots on her hands and unexplained bruises on her body, which the doctors deemed Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura (ITP), but after seeing an informative TikTok video on the symptoms Ellora was experiencing, her mom’s gut told her it was something more than a bleeding disorder.

Read More ›

Meet Keaton’s Kiddo – Samerah

14-year-old Samerah, best known as Sam has been battling quite the challenging journey, but with the love and support of her family, friends, and community she has been able to overcome so much. At the very young age of 2 months old, Sam was diagnosed with Neurofibromatosis. Neurofibromatosis is not an isolated disorder. It causes several different conditions and can lead to the development of tumors on the brain, spine, and the nerves that send signals between the brain and spinal cord.

Read More ›

Meet Keaton’s Kiddo – Pedro

Strong and optimistic Keaton’s Kiddo Pedro has a heart for soccer and music, and he absolutely loves Chick-Fil-A! Being a teen at just 14 years old, Pedro was sadly diagnosed with a brain tumor called Juvenile Pilocytic Astrocytoma. Hear about Pedro’s journey from his point of view.

Read More ›
en_USEN