Надежда, сила и исцеление для семей, справляющихся с диагнозом рака у ребенка

Познакомьтесь с Киддо Китона - Алия

По словам ее милой мамы Джесс, дочь Китона Алия всегда была сильной, веселой и любящей с самого рождения.

Рожденная жизнерадостным ребенком, Алия боролась с недоношенностью и оставалась в отделении интенсивной терапии в течение первых 3 месяцев своей жизни, ожидая, когда у нее разовьются легкие. Вскоре после этого она, к сожалению, столкнулась со многими проблемами и у нее развилась тяжелая форма астмы из-за недоношенности легких. Примерно в 10 месяцев у нее начались судороги и развилась эпилепсия, из-за чего она и ее семья проводили много времени в больнице и вне ее.

В возрасте 8 лет дела Алии, казалось, пошли на лад. Ее припадки прекратились, и ее астма не была такой тяжелой. Наконец-то она смогла спокойно ходить в школу и чувствовала себя обычным ребенком. Однако все это длилось очень короткое время, так как мама Алии начала замечать, что она часто проявляет чувство усталости и внезапно испытывает недостаток энергии. Она также стала бледной, у нее появились постоянные кровотечения из носа и синяки. В то время, когда появились эти симптомы, мама Алии посещала школу медсестер и опасалась, что у Алии потенциально могут быть признаки лейкемии. Она немедленно связалась с врачом Алии со своими опасениями, но не смогла записаться на прием в течение двух недель. Несмотря на эту неудачу, Джесс доверилась своему материнскому инстинкту и просто знала, что что-то не так. Она решила отвезти Алию в отделение неотложной помощи, где в апреле 2020 года ей поставили диагноз B-клеточный острый лимфобластный лейкоз, и отправила Алию и ее семью для дальнейшего тестирования в Детскую больницу UCSF Benioff в Окленде.

Когда Алия начала лечение, мир ее семьи резко изменился. Они тратили более 6 часов на лечение, 5 или более дней в неделю, чтобы Алия могла получить надлежащий уход, в котором она нуждалась. Как и во многих семьях, их транспортировка была длительной, наряду со многими другими непредвиденными факторами стресса, которые нанесли им огромный финансовый и эмоциональный ущерб. Хотя мама Алии, будучи единственным кормильцем своей семьи, делала все, что могла для Алии и ее братьев и сестер, она просто знала, что не сможет надежно продолжать их поездки на работу для лечения Алии. Из-за этого Джесс решила перевести Алию в местную лечебную больницу в Сакраменто и перенесла место жительства ее семьи, чтобы Алия могла быть ближе к своей лечебной больнице.

Вскоре после перевода лечебного учреждения семья Алии была направлена в Альянс детского рака Китона через социального работника больницы. Семья пережила так много перемен, и наша команда была рада вмешаться и предложить поддержку, какую только могла.

«Наш социальный работник связал нас с Жасмин из Китонского детского онкологического альянса в 2021 году. С момента встречи с Жасмин она успокоила меня. По тому, как она слушала и разговаривала с нами, можно было сказать, что она и остальные члены команды искренне заботятся о своей работе и о нас как о семьях. Китон буквально стал частью нашей семьи и поделился с нами многими воспоминаниями, даже во время пандемии, когда мы чувствовали себя еще более изолированными. Китон не только был рядом с нами эмоционально, но и финансово помогал со счетами, газом или даже продуктовыми карточками, когда наступили тяжелые времена, они никогда не осуждали, просто понимали и помогали, как могли. Нам нравятся все мероприятия, которые были организованы для этих детей и их семей, чтобы помочь со школьными принадлежностями, одеждой… любыми предметами первой необходимости, которые могут понадобиться детям и семьям».

Наша команда Family Navigator имеет честь размышлять о росте и связях, которые у нас были с семьей Алии за последний год. Как и все семьи, мы стремимся сохранить нашу миссию, разделяя заботу и поддержку семей с детскими онкологическими заболеваниями, когда они переживают такие трудные времена. Больше всего мы любим отмечать достижения наших детей Китона. Мы рады сообщить, что Алия официально была объявлена свободной от рака, и 4 августа 2022 года ей нужно позвонить в колокольчик, чтобы поделиться своим опытом со своими близкими и педиатрами. Ее мама Джесс делится: «Независимо от того, через что вы проходите, просто дышите и помните, что вы справитесь с этим, всего один день за раз, и никогда не теряйте надежды».

Теперь, когда Алия вернулась к жизни простого ребенка, она хотела бы путешествовать, ей нравится заниматься искусством и играть со своими друзьями. Эта сильная, выносливая и красивая борец с раком также надеется присоединиться к нашей команде навигаторов в качестве волонтера, чтобы она могла помочь другим детям и семьям, когда они сражаются, зная, что ни один ребенок никогда не должен бороться с этим в одиночку.

«Я знаю, что ты боишься, и тебе больно, и ты хочешь, чтобы все это закончилось, но никогда не теряй надежды, ты сильная, ты красивая, и ты переживешь это 🧡» ~ ребенок Китона, Алия

Meet Keaton’s Kiddo – MJ

May of 2021 started like any other month. Our family was enjoying the warm weather and spending time with friends and family. Unfortunately, May was the month that our world would change in a way we never expected.

Читать далее >

Meet Keaton’s Kiddo – Yazmine

During the week of July 17th, 2023, Yazmine hadn’t been herself.  She’d been running fevers on and off and wasn’t eating.  She had no energy and only wanted to sleep.  Then, on July 19th, her dad’s birthday, we decided that I would take her to the ER for a quick check up and be back in time to make a birthday dinner.  Little did we know everything would change on that day.  

Читать далее >

Познакомьтесь с Киддо Китона - Кадьяк

In the Fall of 2023, Keaton’s Kiddo Kodiak was diagnosed with two rare and aggressive forms of cancer: Mixed Acute Myeloid Leukemia (AML) and Myelodysplastic Syndrome (MDS) also known as ‘preleukemia.’

Their journey began one year earlier, in the Fall of 2022, when Kodiak was struck with a series of different seasonal illnesses. Kodiak’s mom Tonya shares: “In September, he got COVID, and then in November it was the flu, and then December RSV.”

Читать далее >
ru_RURU

Hope, Strength, and Healing for families coping with a child cancer diagnosis

Meet Keaton’s Kiddo – Aliya

Keaton’s kiddo Aliya has always been a strong, fun, and loving spirit since the time of her birth, according to her sweet mom, Jess.

Born a resilient kiddo, Aliya fought through being a preemie and stayed in the NICU for the first 3 months of her life, while waiting for her lungs to develop. Shortly after, she, unfortunately, faced many challenges and developed severe asthma due to her lungs being premature. At around 10 months old, she began having seizures and developed epilepsy, which caused her and her family to spend a lot of time in and out of the hospital.

At the age of 8, things seemed to look up for Aliya. Her seizures had stopped and her asthma was not as severe. She was finally able to attend school without worry and felt like a regular kid. However, that all lasted for a very brief amount of time as Aliya’s mom began to notice that she was frequently expressing feeling tired and had a sudden lack of energy. She also began looking pale, as well as constant nose bleeds and bruising. At the time that these symptoms began, Aliya’s mom was attending nursing school and feared that Aliya could potentially be showing signs of Leukemia. She immediately contacted Aliya’s doctor with her concerns but was unable to schedule an available appointment for two weeks. Despite this setback, Jess trusted her maternal instinct and just knew that something wasn’t right. She decided to take Aliya to the ER where they diagnosed her with B-Cell Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia, in April of 2020, and sent Aliya and her family for further testing at UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital in Oakland.

When Aliya began her treatment, her family’s world changed drastically. They commuted 6+ hours for treatment, 5 or more days a week so that Aliya could receive the proper care she’d need. Like many families, their transportation time was long, along with many other unforeseen stressors that took a tremendous toll on them financially and emotionally. Although Aliya’s mom, being her family’s sole provider, did whatever she could for Aliya and her siblings, she just knew she couldn’t reliably continue with their commutes for Aliya’s treatment. Because of this, Jess decided to transfer Aliya to a local treatment hospital in Sacramento and relocated her family’s residence so that Aliya could be closer to her treatment hospital.

Shortly after transferring treatment facilities, Aliya’s family was referred to Keaton’s Child Cancer Alliance through their Hospital Social Worker. With the family experiencing so many changes, our team was happy to step in and offer support however we could.

“Our social worker connected us to Jasmine from Keaton’s Child Cancer Alliance in 2021. From the moment of meeting Jasmine, she put me at ease. The way she listened and talked to us, you could tell she and the rest of the team genuinely care about their jobs and us as families. Keaton’s has literally become a part of our family and had shared in many memories along the way with us, even during the pandemic when we felt even more isolated. Keaton’s has not only been there for us emotionally but also financially helping with bills and gas or even food cards when times got tough, they never judged, just understood, and helped the best they could. We love all the events that have been thrown for these kids and their families to help out with school supplies, clothes… any necessities the kids and families may need.”

Our Family Navigator Team is honored to reflect on the growth and connection we’ve had with Aliya’s family over the past year. As with all families, we strive to keep our mission alive by sharing care and support to childhood cancer families as they endure such challenging times. Most of all, we love celebrating our Keaton’s kiddos’ milestones. We are happy to share that Aliya has officially been declared cancer free and got to ring the bell on August 4th, 2022, sharing the experience with her loved ones and pediatric caregivers. Her mom Jess shares, “No matter what you’re going through, just breathe and remember you will get through it, just one day at a time, and never lose hope.”

Now that Aliya is back to a life of just being a kid, she would like to experience traveling, and enjoys doing art, and playing with her friends. This strong, resilient, and beautiful cancer warrior also hopes to join our Navigator team as a volunteer so she can give back to other children and families as they fight their battle, knowing that no kiddo should ever fight this alone.

“I know you’re scared, and hurting and wishing it will all end, but never give up hope, you are strong, you are beautiful and you will get through this 🧡” ~ Keaton’s kiddo, Aliya

Honoring Keaton’s Angel – Abel

We remember our Keaton’s angel, Abel. A bright young man who thrived in school. His hope was to one day go to college and work towards his success. With his caring heart and love for his family, Abel left an impact on everyone he met and will be sincerely missed. We celebrate Abel’s life and legacy, honoring his journey.

Read More ›

Meet Keaton’s Kiddo – Colby

At just 10 years old, on April 29, 2021, Keaton’s Kiddo Colby was diagnosed with T-Cell Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia (ALL), which represents around 12%-15% of pediatric leukemia patients.

Read More ›